Ten Things I Like

March 2, 2011

I was reading through my blog a little and it occurred to me that it is…well, slightly negative in tone.  At my core, I am a positive person.  Maybe I have a tendency to internalize my frustrations and humor helps me deal with them.  Whatever the reason, I decided to make a list of ten things that I LIKE. 

1)  Coffee.  I never thought I would be one to drink coffee everyday, but most days I fit into that category.  There’s something about a warm cup of sugary goodness that makes everything else seem nicer. 

2)  The Beach.  There is nothing like the beaches here on Okinawa.  At least, not any I’ve seen.  My favorite thing to do is pack up the beach bag, throw the kids in the car and drive the 2 minutes it takes to get to the five nearest beaches.  Did I mention that we went the day after Christmas?  When my entire family was snowed in back home?  Ahhhh…the beach.

3)  Puppies.  This one seems a little self-explanatory.  I haven’t really met anyone who doesn’t like puppies. 

4)  Contact Sports.  There is just something about playing a sport that allows you to legally beat the crap out of other people that I’ve always really, really liked.  My two favorite choices are soccer and kung-fu, although martial arts might not be classified as a sport, technically…whatever.  Soccer is the best sport in the world and kung-fu is an excellent discipline for short people like myself…but I will also make do with basketball or football or something that most other people enjoy playing.  I find that most people do not enjoy a spontaneous kung-fu sparring match so generally, that is out of the question.

5)  My kids.  Now before you go and say that they should be number one, allow me to remind you that these lists are written in no particular order, and my kids are a constant fixture in my life so I do not always think of them first when I’m writing about stuff.  And they are in bed at the moment, which means my brain is attempting to switch over to “adult mode”.  But my children are the best.  When I wake up, it’s raining, and I say “Who wants to cut up some old clothes and make Mexican wrestling costumes?!”, my little guys are always up for it.  I never knew how much I would enjoy being a parent…but I do.  And a lot of it is because I got so lucky. 

6)  My husband.  I figured I’d add him in there.

7)  Ramen.  I LOVE real Japanese ramen. 

8)  Books.  Fiction novels are like crack to me.  I cannot stop reading them once I start.  “Under The Dome” took me four whole days and I haven’t read another one since because I think my family needs a break.  My mother use to have to take my books away so I would do my homework.  Is being addicted to something like crack actually considered liking it?

9)  Pictures.  My house is full of pictures, so I must really like them.

10)  Chocolate.

2 Responses to “Ten Things I Like”

  1. Astrid Desmonda Says:

    I like your writing! And I like 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, and 10. Somehow, that special feeling always come whenever I could enjoy any of those.

    Greetings from Indonesia,
    Astrid Desmonda

  2. husband Says:

    I love you babe this was funny.


Leave a comment